A is for Acetaminophen

I first discovered this difference years ago when visiting my then-fiancé in Orlando. I came down sick with a bad cold and headache.

To read my drama of trying to resolve my cold, read on.
Want to get to the point? Scroll down to the summary.

panadol

I sniffle my way down the Cold & Flu aisle in Walgreens (major US pharmacy chain –  after that I got the pop culture reference in Big Bang Theory S3: E3 ‘The Gothowitz Deviation’), looking out for a paracetamol-based product, as in Aus, paracetamol is an active ingredient for several pain-killer and cold and flu products – Panadol, also available in other countries, is a big one.

I find ibuprofen products like Advil but I prefer paracetamol mixed in with a decongestant. But all I see jumping out at me in the active ingredients of the myriad of brands are Acetaminophen, Acetaminophen + this, Acetaminophen + that…

tylenol
Tylenol‘ by Mike Mozart is licensed under CC BY 2.0

What is this strange, American drug? It has to be some kind of equivalent to paracetamol I figure, “Tylenol” which features Acetaminophen sounds a lot like “Panadol,” but to what extent? I have side-effects to some over-the-counter meds, so I’m wary of trying…

I connect to the free Wi-Fi and Viber msg my graduate-pharmacist-sister:

“WTH is Acetaminophen?”

She messages me back:

“Acetaminophen is Panadol. Lol.”

Ohhhh ok.

I stock up on acetaminophen-based products like Tylenol and Alka-Seltzer Plus that help me survive the rest of the visit (I was hoping Alka-Seltzer tastes like Lemsip – to me, it tastes awful! Theraflu, which I discovered on my next trip, is similar).

And I sign up for a free Walgreens rewards card, wondering why on earth my fiancé didn’t sign up years ago. Compared to the Aussie pharmacy chains at the time, their points-based system looked awesome.

***

Summary:

  • Paracetamol = Acetaminophen
    • Panadol = Tylenol
  • Lemsip = somewhat similar taste = Theraflu
  • Ibuprofen = Ibuprofen.
Author: Josette Kubicki

Aussie currently living in the US. Loves to travel domestically and internationally with my husband (or husband and co) whenever I have the opportunity. So far in the US, we have traveled to Boston, NYC, Washington DC, Los Angeles, Miami Beach, San Francisco, Seattle, Forks WA, Tallahassee FL, Asheville NC, and parts of the Appalachian mountains. Overseas, I have been fortunate to visit Bali, Malta, London, Paris and Nice, and Northern Italy. Ok, Singapore when I was 4 years old, but considering I can only remember McDonalds, a supermarket, and the hotel we stayed in, don't think that really counts.

2 thoughts on “A is for Acetaminophen”

  1. I didn’t know that Tylenol had the same active ingredient as Panadol. I feel like Tylenol doesn’t do anything for me. When I went back to Oz for a few weeks I bought a pack of Panadol back with me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

